What's new on this web site?

From Usenet Big-8 Management Board
(Redirected from What's new)

MediaWiki

Thursday 15 July 2010

Saturday 10 July 2010

  • Finished the announcements around 10:50 AM EDT.
  • Testing whether dropping myself from the "bot" group will show my edits on the Recent Pages page.

Friday 9 July 2010

  • Finished draft of Board's private pages.
  • Started filling in some Announcements. These numbers may not be exact (they are from file counts), but they represent the right order of magnitude:
Total 795
To do 280
Done 515

Thursday 8 July 2010

  • Finished review of all public pages at 10:00 EDT. Time to start on the board area.

Wednesday 7 July 2010

  • Finished drafting all the pages linked to the Main Page.
  • Finished drafting all articles that are linked in Main Page articles.

Tuesday 6 July 2010

  • First drafts of logo, favicon

Monday 5 July 2010

  • Translation to MediaWiki begun.

Sunday 4 July 2010

  • MediaWiki installed on Big-8 server.

Dokuwiki

Wednesday, July 30, 2008

  • Added some additional information to the FAQ about changes in ISP Usenet policies. Several more companies have agreed to limit access to newsgroups that carry child pornography. I don't know whether they allow access to the Big-8.

Tuesday, June 25, 2008

  • Verizon, Sprint, and Time Warner (Roadrunner) have changed their Usenet policies. I've put up a FAQ to help deal with questions from unsettled Verizon users.

Saturday, December 16, 2006

  • I took the link to this page off of the main page on the web site. I don't update it often enough to make it of general interest. After nine months or so, the site seems to me to be pretty complete.

Thursday, November 23, 2006

Tuesday, November 14, 2006

Sunday, November 12, 2006

Tuesday, November 7, 2006

  • Three new Board members elected: Doug McClure, Kathy Morgan, Jeremy Nixon. Several pages adjusted.

Tuesday, October 3, 2006

  • Edited pages to indicate transition from the Board's probationary period to permanent status.

Saturday, June 17, 2006

  • The pace of rolling out new pages has slowed considerably in the last few weeks. As we approach our third month of operation, the structure of the site seems to be reasonably complete. If you see the need for a new section, please let us know.

Friday, May 26, 2006

  • (8 July 2010: The old "Navigation page" has been replaced by the Navigation sidebar.)

Tuesday, May 23, 2006

Sunday, May 21, 2006

Friday, May 19, 2006

Thursday, May 18, 2006

  • Revamped opening page, trying to make the site map more useful.
  • Several new big-8.org mailing addresses have been spread through the pages. Thanks, Brian!
  • soc.religion.asatru was approved by the Board.

Tuesday, May 16, 2006

Monday, May 15, 2006

  • Did first draft for the creation RFD outline..
  • I think things are stabilizing. We've got the big sections of the site all mapped out. "Life is a series of small adjustments."

Tuesday, April 25, 2006

  • Tied together some related pages with links.
  • Grouped the committe information into a new namespace ("workgroups"). Broke some of the links I just made.

Tuesday, April 18, 2006

Friday, April 7, 2006

  • Added four ideas to the queue (8 July 2010: bad idea, as it turned out).

Friday, March 31, 2006

Monday, March 27, 2006

  • rec.boardgames.gomoku and rec.boardgames.renju added to queue

Sunday, March 26, 2006

  • Fixed a couple of links that I broke by niftying up the site.
  • M. Dodel added the list of newsreaders.

Saturday, March 25, 2006

  • Filled in page on the ISC Archives.
  • Started shuffling stuff around in the new policies namespace.

Friday, March 24, 2006

Thursday, March 23, 2006

  • Glossary
  • Took a vow to delete/recreate as few pages as possible.
  • Had lunch.
  • Recruited a volunteer to care for some pages. Drat! I'm logged in under his name. Back in a flash.
  • Mark fleshed out the pages for News Service Providers and Newsreaders. Thanks, Mark!

Wednesday, March 22, 2006

Tuesday, March 21, 2006

  • Wiki opened around noon.
  • Visitors welcomed in the evening.